# **Industrial Strategy Council**

# 1 November 2018

The inaugural meeting of the Industrial Strategy Council took place at 10 Downing Street. It was attended by the Prime Minister, the Chancellor of the Exchequer and the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, in addition to the Council members and secretariat.

## The following decisions were taken:

- 1. The Council **agreed** to the Industrial Strategy Framework.
- 2. The Council **agreed** to operate in working groups to deliver the work programme and Council output.

#### The following actions were agreed:

- 3. The Council will aim to meet 3-4 times a year, with dates pre-agreed and publicly disclosed in advance.
- 4. Unattributable action minutes will be taken by the secretariat and made available publicly.
- 5. The Council agreed that it should have an on-line public presence. The secretariat will consider options for discussion with the Council.
- 6. The secretariat will provide a complete e-mail contact list of the Council to all members.
- 7. The Chair will hold bilateral conversations with every member of the Council in advance of the next meeting. These discussions will cover:
  - a. Member priorities for the work programme
  - b. Resource and analytical support for the Council
- 8. The Secretary of State and the Chancellor agreed that effective analytical resourcing of the Council was important. The secretariat will pursue appropriate expertise.
- 9. Council Members will consider the opportunities for expert resource to support their delivery including independent secondees to the secretariat.

The next meeting is scheduled for 27 February 2019.



### Member attendees

- Andy Haldane
- Dame Kate Barker
- Jayne-Anne Gadhia
- Christine Gaskell
- Rupert Harrison
- Dame Vivian Hunt
- Dame Rotha Johnston
- Sir Paul Marshall
- Sir Charlie Mayfield
- Nicola Mendelsohn
- Roy Rickhuss
- Professor Dame Nancy Rothwell
- Professor Jennifer Rubin
- Matthew Taylor

#### Other attendees

- Prime Minister
- Philip Hammond Chancellor of the Exchequer
- Greg Clark Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
- Richard Harrington Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Minister for Business and Industry, BEIS
- Gareth Davies Director General of Business and Science Group
- Sam Lister Director of Industrial Strategy
- Jon Sell Deputy Director, HM Treasury
- Sarah Hodgetts Head of Industrial Strategy Council Secretariat

# Member apologies

- Emma Bridgewater
- Professor Diane Coyle
- Professor Juergen Maier
- Archie Norman
- Hayley Parsons
- Rohan Silva

